Marathon Monday + this week’s plan

Did you watch the Boston Marathon today? I did not. Because hi, I have a job. But I am exceedingly jealous of everyone who was able to catch it live and will definitely be geeking out over the results later.

This Week’s Game Plan
I’m three weeks out from my next half, so my goal is to get in my last big long run this weekend. It will be a bit tricky because I’m traveling on Saturday and Sunday, so I am setting the overly ambitious goal of knocking it out Friday morning before work.

Once you say it on the internet, it must come true, right? (If you knew me in real life you would know how absolutely ridiculous this goal is. I am terrible, horrible, no good, very bad at motivating myself to get up for pre-work, morning miles.)

Monday: Easy 3-4 mi through the ‘hood
Tuesday: 400 repeats on treadmill: 1 mi warmup at 10:00/mi, 4 mi of 400 repeats at 8.0-9.5 on tread w/ 0.1 mi at 5.5-6.0 between each, 1 mi cool down at 10:00/mi (<– I made up this workout last time I was trying to do 400 repeats on the treadmill and it seemed to work. And by that I mean it sucks and is really hard, which is my personal you’re doing it right indicator. There is no science behind it; I was just trying to replicate what I usually do for 400 repeats on an actual track.)
Wednesday: Easy 4 on the treadmill at 9:00-10:00min/mi pace
Thursday: Chillin’ (rest) or 30 min. elliptical
Friday: 12 mi AM run before work (!)
Saturday & Sunday: Walking around Chicago. I’m not going to stress about squeezing in any running miles; this will be a much-needed weekend of QT with close friends. If I were the type of person to wake up early and run on boozy weekends with friends, my name wouldn’t be Pokey, now would it? It would be like, Speedy Gonzales or MsFitRunner. Or Shalane Flanagan.

Total = ~25 miles

What do you think? Am I doing it right?

#SNAX
Today, I came across this clip on runnersworld.com detailing the “ultimate afternoon snack” for runners. To save 2:49 of your life, I’ll just give you the recipe. You’re welcome!:

  • 1 c. dried blueberries
  • 1 c. dried tart cherries
  • 1 c. walnuts
  • 1 c. almonds
  • 2/3 c. pumpkin seeds. They are a high source of magnesium, which prevents muscle weakness.
  • 1/4 c. dark chocolate chips. Chocolate that is at least 60% cocoa is a good source of antioxidants.

Yumm-O, right? I like the suggestions of dried blueberries, cherries and pumpkin seeds rather than the more boring, typical trail mix stuff like peanuts and raisins. Only problem is that this requires actually gathering the six ingredients and mixing them yourself. That’s a lot of effort for a non-chef like me. You think I’m kidding.

Happy Marathon Monday!

Leave a Reply

