And That’s All I Have to Say about That

So I guess, sometimes, you say you’re going to do something, and then you do it.

Magic!

My typical schedule was flipped on its back this weekend. I came home from work at 8 in the morning and slept until after lunch. I woke up, ate “breakfast” and drank some coffee, and poked around for a bit. I knew I had 12 miles to run, but my inner sloth really wanted to call uncle on the week and give myself a free pass.

However, I’d already said I had 12 miles to run — on the internet, to nobody in particular — and apparently that was commitment enough. So I went for a run. Low 60s, breezy, blue skies and sunny. Perfect running weather.

I wound through Capitol Hill, up Pennsylvania, past the White House, up Pennsylvania some more, down to K Street and the Georgetown waterfront, up to M Street, across the Key Bridge to Arlington, down the Mt. Vernon Trail, past Roosevelt Island, back across the river to DC, down Virginia Ave to Constitution, past all the monuments, and back to Capitol Hill.

Did you actually read that? I’m impressed. I will reward you with my favorite Nike commercial:

Killer! (Get it? I really hope you get it…)

I love the part in that clip where the gymnast vaults and lands on her face. Because you KNOW that wasn’t the last time she vaulted.

So anyway. I finished 12 miles in 1:55, including stops on stops on stops… for stoplights. Damn city running!

It was fantastic. I think the unintentional back-to-back rest days prior really helped. I felt good the whole time, no music, just my feet and the road. (Plus a couple hundred thousand other people crowding my sidewalks. Yes, mine.)

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Running! If there’s any activity happier, more exhilarating, more nourishing to the imagination, I can’t think of what it might be. In running the mind flees with the body, the mysterious efflorescence of language seems to pulse in the brain, in rhythm with our feet and the swinging of our arms. Joyce Carol Oates

2 thoughts on “And That’s All I Have to Say about That

  1. I’ve always loved that song, but I haven’t seen that commercial before. Great job on your 12! I find that if I tell at least one person I’m going to do a set number of miles I then feel compelled to actually do it. Like I’m guilting myself into it.

Leave a Reply

